A Garden is a Grand Teacher – making of:

The final version of the May assignment for MATS Bootcamp using the suggested roses, a quote from Gertrud Jekyll and the given trend colours.

Journal/notebook mock up and partial design close-up.

Journal/notebook and more in this design available in my Society6 store here (lined and blank paper options)

The first design: line work scanned from inkpen on paper and edited in Photoshop

Before we were given a mood board with a suggested trend colour palette, our initial assignment was to play with and study roses in as much detail as possible (see previous post: In the Name of Roses).

For the mini assignment, the main working colour was still pink. That is why my first colour experiment was with pink.

First completed journal/notebook design.

But with the mood board, this changed drastically, as the colours were darker, bolder, and more adventurous. In the beginning, I hesitated to follow my first hunch to use the nearly black colour as background and opted first for the greyish-blue:

But the next day, upon looking at it again, I just felt that it was too flat for my taste and tried the nearly black background, which is the one I ended up posting to the online gallery, too.

But looking at all three colours, I find they all work well in their own way. I guess, colour choice can depend a lot on current colour trends and then on personal likes and dislikes.

The final design with no quote:

Notebook/journal design, no quote

I’ve noticed that colour trends can inspire me to try new colour combinations I might not have considered.

With clothes, I know the colours that suit me well. All the powdery colours make me look like an old chewing gum that was stuck under a table ages ago.

I like stronger, brighter colour on me like grass green and a juicy yellow. The non-colours black and white go well, too. Brown, depends. I’ll always run away from grey.

As far as blue is concerned, I’ve become overly saturated with it as blue has become too uniform and corporate for me. At one point, I suddenly noticed, I had mainly blue clothes and an occasional red, white or black something to combine it with. Kind of as if I’d been affiliated with Tommy Hilfiger, which I’m not. That is why I think the blue journal design just did not work for me.

Also, I do not wear flower prints. I do not decorate my place with flower prints, either. I hardly illustrate or paint flowers.

initial pencil sketch, scanned and edited in Photoshop

So, drawing roses turned out to be a challenge. I feel, for not being a very ‘flowery’ kind of person,  I’ve managed to find just the right amount of flowers I can handle in this design (I will put a flower in my hair if I find a nice one that fell off a tree, though. Flowers on a balcony and garden, lovely, too. A bunch of flowers for inside the home, also: fine).

wild rose sketched, scanned, photohopped

I think, if I were to design patterns with flowers, I’d go more abstract with the flower design with bolder shapes and colours and then soften it with line work as in the yogini’s hair. Then, I may even consider wearing a flower pattern.

This is what MATS Bootcamp is doing to me. I am suddenly thinking of design, patterns, textiles, fabrics and clothes. It’s been a while since I had these thoughts…

As for the next MATS Bootcamp assignment: next Monday we will get our June mini assignment. Can’t wait.


Until we meet next: have a lovely weekend!


 

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

