Lazy Sunday

Sketch (7/60)

Lazy Sunday: pigment liner, gouache, gold ink
Lazy Sunday: pigment liner, gouache, gold ink

Walking Down Memory Lane (31-day writing challenge 7/31) (748/500)

There are days I really miss having a cat, or a dog or a rat or some kind of feline company.

Lazy Sunday sketch: black pigment liner 0.05
Lazy Sunday sketch: black pigment liner 0.05

I used to have a cat named Mikki. She was a very special one. But I suppose everybody feels like this about their pet friends.

Mikki was the result of a beautiful, long-haired Persian cat mama and a scruffy, short-haired street cat papa and this is the story of how she came to me.

One day, a school friend announced that their family was giving away three kittens and whether anybody was interested in adopting one. Of course, I was interested, but I knew I needed to ask my parents for permission first.

The next day, after getting the ok from my parents, I approached my friend: ‘Are you still giving away kittens?’ I asked.

‘Sure,’ my friend replied, ‘we’ve got a red tiger, a grey kitten and a white one with big black spots. Which one would you like?’

‘Oh, can I have the black and white one?’ I said without hesitation.

‘Sure! Shall I bring her to school tomorrow?’ my friend asked me.

The next day my mum came to school with me to pick up the cat. I still can remember how my friend and her mum approached us on the street right next to the school building with a paper bag.

As we reached them, they handed the paper bag to us. I looked into the bag and saw this cute and tiny white kitten with black markings on her head, a big black spot on her back like a saddle, and a black tail. In the bag were also three cat food cans, to give us a headstart with feeding her. Her eyes were so big and she meowed out of the bag. I was in love. It was love at first sight.

I’m not sure if I was able to focus on school lessons that day. Probably not. What I do remember, though, is that a long-term and very close friendship began on that very special day.

Mikki and I were so tuned into each other. She knew exactly what my mood was. And, if I was sad, she would always come to sit close.

Despite being an absolute sweetheart, she could also be a terrible grumpy pants. She would get totally annoyed when I would pick her up and carry her around.

Also, I could always read when she was up to no good:

Let’s say, she was not supposed in to go in the kitchen. When I would notice her sneaking past the door in direction kitchen out of the corner of my eye, I would just say: ‘Mikkiiiii!’ in a low but assertive voice. I knew she heard me as she would cough at me in protest. Then I would get up and point with my finger in the direction she came from without saying anything. Believe it or not, she would indeed turn around and head back to where she came from, but not without giving me another couple of coughs in protest. This ritual was often continued back and forth until one of us got tired. It was our little ‘how to outsmart the other’ game.

Mikki’s favourite place to sleep was under freshly made bedsheets. When I would notice a little lump in my bed, I would gently poke her. She would then make this cute cricket-like sound. Gee, I’m smiling widely as I write these few lines.

When I moved out of my parent’s home to go to university, I did not get to see her so much anymore. But on one occasion, my parents were gone for two weeks and brought Mikki to my apartment so I could look after her. Looking back, I am so grateful that I was able to spend this precious time with her, because, shortly after, she passed of old age. She was 16 years old.

Since then, I could never get myself to get another cat. No cat would be Mikki. Even today, I sometimes have dreams in which she appears. In my dreams, I am thinking to myself, ‘oh, Mikki is here! I must enjoy our time together before she leaves again.’ And I do. These are always feel good dreams. Mikki will always have a special place in my heart.

Lazy Sunday: close up
Lazy Sunday: close up

Save

6 thoughts on “Lazy Sunday

  1. What a beautiful post, pets make life so much more interesting! My cat lives with my mom at the moment, as my city location is not good for a cat who loves wondering outdoors. You’re post made me miss him.

    1. Aww, thank you Lingyun. I guess it is best to leave our feline friends in a safe place and where they feel free to roam, even if it is not easy and we miss them. In the last three years before Mikki passed, we moved into a farm house where she could roam freely wherever. She loved it, I could tell. But that meant that she was not necessarily home when I got home, so sometimes I’d miss her until she got back from her outdoor adventures. It’s crazy how much love flows between humans and animals. Wishing that you’ll get to visit your feline sweetheart as soon as possible again. 🙂 Have a lovely weekend, Lingyun.

    1. Thank you so much, Margaret! Makes me happy that you enjoyed my story and artwork. Indeed, I can totally relate to your sentiment. If I wouldn’t have planned all along on returning to Australia, I probably would have considered getting another cat at some point. But putting the animals through the quarantine phase just seems like torture for both parties. But to compenstate, I do get to look after my neighbour’s cats when she is on holidays. Also, there are plenty of cats in the area that like to snuggle with me when I go for walks or runs, too.

      May you and your two lovelies have a beautiful and ‘catilicious’ weekend.

Leave a Reply

