Flowers

It’s the fourth day of my 60 day sketchbook challenge and the third day of my 31-day writing challenge.

Today, when I sat down to sketch, all I knew was that I wanted to focus on putting colours on paper and not on drawing lines. I wanted to get out of my head.

Looking at the outcome, it turned out to look like a bunch of flowers.A bunch of flowers

The bunch of flowers

 


Flowers (31 day writing challenge 3/31)

Not sure if gouache is a medium I like working with. I love watercolours for their translucency and I love acrylics for their opacity. With gouache I’m getting the feeling that I am stuck somewhere in between. But before I shape a final opinion, I’ll be experimenting further with gouache in this sketchbook. Everybody deserves a fair chance, and so does gouache, hehe. Besides, I do have some ideas I’d still like to try with gouache.

For me, working with gouache is probably comparable to riding say, a bicycle, a snowboard, or like driving a car: it takes time to get used to it and routined practice to master it. Once familiar with the basics, things start getting more fun, experimental and daring. So I am still in the process of learning. And pretty much everything that happens is a surprise (for the better or the worse).

I am also not used to the sketchbook’s paper. It is 120 grams perforated paper and I cannot apply too much water or colour because the pages get all wrinkly. For my illustrations or watercolour artworks, I usually use rough and thick watercolour paper.

Also, I am not really a person that paints abstract. When I create, I usual start out with an image in my head then draw the lines (which at this point can turn out completely different compared to the image I had in my head when I started out). Finally, I add colour. Now colour is a tricky business with me. I once watched a documentary on art. There they said that some people saw lines and others light. Impressionist artists like Monet was given as an example for an artist that saw light. I believe Dalì would be an example of an artist that saw lines. After watching the documentary, I already had the suspicion that I was a line person. Today, I do believe that I am more of a line person than a light person. Or maybe, I am just a light person in disguise!?

In any case, I’d like to expand my work process and materials I can use to multiply my options on how I can express my inner self through images.

Now, I am mainly referring to my artwork series ‘Paradigm Shift’ (acrylic on canvas), which has been advancing terribly slow, because I’ve been more busy with illustrations and digital artwork. If I want these paintings not only to advance quicker but also to turn out as experessive as I see them in my head, feel them in my heart and in my soul, I will have to learn to switch easily from head, to heart, to soul and back as required. I’ve realised that, being too much in my head has only blocked this artwork serie’s progress. The goal is, that it should become little less control and a little more creative and unsurpressed flow.

Bedtime!


Good night world.


 

Save

Leave a Reply

