Advent Day 19: Christmas Gift Boxes

Here a very quick illustration for today’s Advent day 19, because my day was spent wrapping Christmas gifts:

Christmas Gift Boxes
Christmas Gift Boxes

 

I really enjoy wrapping presents. A lot of love and attention to detail goes into the gifts I wrap. I’ve never managed to get a paper, add a ribbon and call it a day.

Most commonly, I use wrapping tissue in all possible colours and layer them. To me, wrapping tissue is the watercolour amongst the wrapping papers. And, I always have a stock of wrapping tissue in various colours at home.

Another type of wrapping paper I like to use is the natural brown one. There are endless possibilities with this paper.

Finally, on some occasions I will even use fabrics.

 

It just makes me happy, when those on the receiving end not only enjoy the gift but the process of seeing the gift and unwrapping it, too.

As a child, I used to make many, many Christmas presents for my parents. No matter how small the gift, each one would be wrapped separately.

Presents wrapped-up were (and still are) a delight to my eyes. So much so, that I would prolong the opening moment to such extent that my parents would get all jittery and started persuading me to start opening the gifts!

When I finally gave in to their wish, I would take it nice and slow with unwrapping. Ribbon after ribbon, sticky tape after sticky tape. I made sure no paper or ribbon was ruined. Because, you know, maybe it could be used to make something –  I don’t know – just something.

Still today, I am not the tear open gift ‘unwrapper’. I still enjoy looking at wrapped gifts – even if they are not meant for me.

I guess it’s just my ‘thing’.

(In case you were wondering, I’ve never ironed wrapping paper… ok, ribbons and fabrics? yes; paper? no)

 

Do you have a ‘thing’ when it comes to gift wrappings?


Happy 19th day of Advent and see you tomorrow.


Leave a Reply

