Advent Day 3: Cinnamon Hot Chocolate Recipe

Yesterday’s illustration was inspired by a cinnamon hot chocolate I had made for myself because I was struggling with ideas and just needed to take a step back. It was a little miracle drink, as after a few sips, I knew what I wanted to create!

Today, on the third day of Advent I thought I’d share the recipe with you. So here we go:

Ingredients for one person:
(I use all organic produce)

cinnamonchococup

Two thumb-sized ginger roots (peeled and sliced in thin slices)
200 ml water
250 ml almond milk (unsweetened)
1 tsp cinnamon powder
1/2 tsp ginger powder
1/2 tsp cardamom powder
1/4 tsp Himalayan salt
1 tbsp coconut oil
2 tbsp raw cocoa powder
23 drops of liquid stevia (or 1 tsp honey/raw cane sugar/maple syrup/agave syrup)

Yay! Let’s make it:

Peel and slice the ginger.
Bring the water with ginger to boil and let it simmer until the amount of water is reduced to about 150 ml.
While the ginger water is simmering:
Add the almond milk in a mixer cup (should be heat resistant) with all the other ingredients and blend a bit (I use a hand blender).
Add the hot ginger water and blend thoroughly until you’ve got it as fluffy as desired. You can also decorate the foam with a bit of cocoa powder in the end.

That’s it!

Now it’s time to grab your favourite glass, mug, cup, whatever makes you feel cosiest.

cinnamonhotchoco1

Enjoy!

***

This recipe is not carved in stone, it can be adapted to your taste buds’ liking and preference.

The reason why I do not suggest cow’s milk in this recipe:
Based on ayurvedic food combining principles, cocoa powder mixed with cow’s milk becomes toxic for the body.

Also, the reason I do not boil the almond milk is because, to me, the taste changes unfavourably. But, maybe you’ll like it.

If you are going to drink it cold, it could be tricky with the coconut oil as it will become thick and lumpy.

***

If you do decide to make this drink, I’d love to hear how you like it!

 

Save

4 thoughts on “Advent Day 3: Cinnamon Hot Chocolate Recipe

    1. [ a beaming smile back] I agree with the vegan hot chocolate, it’s yum! Well, as far as the sweetening goes: I do like my almond milk sweet, too. But, if I am buying ready-made almond milk, I’ll choose the least possible processed, organic one. Because, all other ingredients -including sweetening – I will add myself. Like this, I know what is in my drink.

    1. It’s a pleasure! Glad to know I am not the only one to find that almond milk gets a peculiar flavour after heating/boiling! Also, am curious how you’ll like my version of a vegan cinnamon ‘hot’ chocolate.
      My partner says he prefers it with raw cane sugar rather than stevia. I think, I’d prefer it with a spoon of honey. But I can’t experiment further right now because I am currently on a zero sugar/sweets and low carbs detox. Veggies are my main dish. My only exception: this once-in-a-week cinnamon hot chocolate with stevia 🙂

Leave a Reply

