Flowers of Peace

Flowers of Peace
#colour_collective: Pompeian Red: ‘flowers of peace’; made with Photoshop on a Cintiq22HD
I’ve been searching for the right kind of digital brushes with a natural feel to them for quite some time now.

I also tried making them myself.

Not only did I not yet reach the desired brush effects (especially for watercolour), but by the time I’d be done with brush experimenting, I’d be too exhausted to actually create the art I had in mind in the first place!

Then, I stumbled upon a tweet with Kyle’s brushes and went to check out his website at kylebrush.com.

What I saw on display looked promising and so – after many a frustrating brush-creating attempt – I decided to purchase Kyle’s ultimate megapack as well as Kyle’s ultimate real watercolors and hoped for the best.

Now, I am not in any affiliate programme here and am not earning anything by saying this, but good things need to be shared, and as far as Kyle’s brushes are concerned, they are awesome!

In the past week, I’ve been scribbling away, with no goal, just for pure enjoyment of feel and effect of these fantastic brushes. Also, it takes a while to get familiar with the vast selection and to know when to use which brush.

I’m quite glad Kyle added cheat sheets to his bundles, because his brushes are so many and it will take a while to get to know them all by heart. It’s easy to get lost in choices.

For more on Kyle’s brushes, Kyle T Webster has a YouTube channel where he introduces his brushes and demonstrates how they work, too.

Wishing all a peaceful weekend!

Leave a Reply

