Moon Dance

For the final #animalmarch contribution of 2016 a dancing frog under the full moon:

#animalmarch day 30: Moon Dance ~ frog. iPad finger sketch made with Paper53 and Over
#animalmarch: Moon Dance ~ frog. iPad finger sketch made with Paper53 and Over

For #animalmarch, I wanted to work on developing my animal drawing skills further.

I did not necessarily plan to do it all on the iPad because my previous attempts always resulted in unsatisfactory output and I quickly lost patience.

But this time, I stuck to the iPad and once I got into the rhythm, it turned out to be a really enjoyable creative experience.

Getting used to the iPad as a canvas, getting familiar with the Paper53 app together with my not so precise ‘finger tool’ and discovering the additional options the Over app offered to my sketches ended up being so much fun!

Also, using #animalmarch as an opportunity to push myself to overcome the initial discomfort when using an unfamiliar tool and to face my fears (always a bit scary to leave ones comfort zone) when venturing into new creative territory was a great way to break my creative boundaries.

Of course, there is still much room for further improvement… but then again, there always will be. Just need to take one baby step at a time and remain persistent on the creative journey.

However, this does not mean that one should not appreciate current results and the moment for what it is.


Upcoming Twitter event is #buildapril (organised on Twitter by Anthony Greentree ~ contact @antsgreentree if you wish to join and be on the #buildapril list) where I wish to train my sketching skills of buildings and structure.

I also wish to use this opportunity to study angles of light and shade on geometric forms and shapes, depth of field and perspectives as well as to experiment with focal points.

I believe this skill set could prove itself useful in the long run, especially when I will wish to create more elaborate illustrations.

Well, at least that is the plan as for now, let’s see what will actually happen…


2 thoughts on “Moon Dance

  1. Would you ever consider making an illustration about Jane Goodall ? Its her bday today and I have spent a few hours listening to her lectures. She is the most beautiful person I have even seen and heard !

    1. Hi Archana, thank you so much for your comment, and pardon me for my late response!

      Indeed, I also feel that Jane Goodall is a wonderful human being. Though, I am not strong on portraiture (… yet 😉 ) but it will be definitely a welcomed challenge in the near future – if I survive #buildapril: still life is kind of new territory to me and at times somewhat scary due to lack of experience and practice with results that leave me less than thrilled. But, I am sticking to it – at least for as long as April.

      Hope you are having a great April and are doing well.

Leave a Reply

