Vampire for #HallowDoodle

Today’s monster was a vampire.

Vampires are not really something I would choose to draw by my own initiative.

But leaving ones comfort zone once in a while does not hurt.

Because I was not satisfied with the results of my first inked drawing ‘Vampire’, I decided to do another called: ‘Vampire Costume’ hoping the results would satisfy me more – meh.

Oh, well…

So here is vampire number one:

Vampire for #HallowDoodle and #inktober
Vampire for #HallowDoodle and #inktober: black pigment liner 0.05 and 0.1, Canson illustration paper BD, Manga, Comics: pure white for pencil, ink, marker and watercolour, 250g/sqm, 21×29.7cm
And here is the cutesy version vampire number two:

Vampire Costume for #HallowDoodle and #inktober
Vampire Costume for #HallowDoodle and #inktober: black pigment liner 0.05 and 0.1, Canson illustration paper BD, Manga, Comics: pure white for pencil, ink, marker and watercolour, 250g/sqm, 21×29.7cm

Personally, vampires and zombies both bore me to death.

All the hype around the portrayal of vampires and zombies in books, films and series of the past few years is something I cannot relate to and is a trend I most certainly have not been following.

But I must admit, there was one:

The first and last book about vampires I read was ‘Salem’s lot’ by Stephen King.

I had received the book from my aunty with no idea that I would be dealing with vampires.

As it became clear, I was already too deep into the story to put the book down.

I did like the book. But, at the same time, it did not motivate me to pursue reading further vampire stories.

2 thoughts on “Vampire for #HallowDoodle

  1. While you may not be satisfied with your first attempt, I absolutely love the hatching in it, especially in the background of the piece. I’m a bit similar on the topic of monsters too; vampire stories don’t really woo me, that said, I’ll never knock back some great vampire art!

Leave a Reply

