Handstand

For last Friday’s #colour_collective Payne’s Grey: Handstand

‘Handstand’, #colour_collective colour Payne's Grey
‘Handstand’, #colour_collective colour Payne’s Grey: pencil 4B, black pigment liner 0.05, frisket, watercolours, mixed media paper made from 90% bamboo fibre and 10% rag, 24cmx32cm, 265 g/sqm

My first thought upon seeing the colour for last Friday’s #colour collective – Payne’s Grey – was pretty much ‘what a pain!’.

But when I discovered the beauty behind this blueish grey colour, I changed my mind about it. I think this one will become one of my personal favourites – at least for the moment.

Also, during the painting process, I discovered the effect Payne’s Grey has on graphic illustrations.

Had I not already painted over the dog I might have had left the illustration in Payne’s Grey shades only, with touches of black and white and maybe a hint of maximum one colour – maybe red.

‘Handstand’ unfinished
‘Handstand’ unfinished

Next week’s colour for #colour_collective is Chartreuse (I am not sure if I feel more comfortable with this colour, but I am sure it will be yet another interesting colour adventure).

Any theme, any medium, anyone. Post together Fri 19:30 GMT+1. Just use the #colour_collective hashtag on Twitter. For more information see @PennyNevilleLee (#colour_collective creator) and do check out the wonderful illustrations that were posted so far.

Wishing all a lovely week ahead!

Leave a Reply

