Under the stars

The #colour_collective colour for last night was ‘Aubergine’.

‘Under the stars’: #colour_collective colour: Aubergine
‘Under the stars’, #colour_collective colour Aubergine: pencil 4B, black pigment liner 0.1, watercolours, mixed media paper made from 90% bamboo fibre and 10% rag, 24cmx32cm, 265 g/sqm

It was quite a challenge to not think of aubergines/eggplants and focus on using the actual colour for something entirely different.

So I brooded, sketched, did not like, brooded some more, sketched some more and still did not like.

Only by mid week, I kind of began to see a night setting in my head (other than aubergines) in different locations like at the beach, viewing a city skyline, walking over a bridge, a path with lanterns, with the kids, without the kids, with just one of them, with them all, with the dog and without the dog.

I sketched some more but was never happy with the results.

Then finally – Friday – the clock was ticking and I decided to sit down and just officially start without knowing what to do in ‘Aubergine’.

I started off with the first three lines, which made the hills.

Then I sketched the boy, then the path, then I thought ‘let’s give him Archi to walk with’.

Then I gave it a critical look and went from heart to head.

‘Meh’, I thought, and grabbed for my soft kneaded eraser.

,Stop it right there!’, rushed a thought through my mind. ‘Finish what you started and if you don’t like it, well, then you start a new one, but finish it!’

So I did and I was happy.

Intuition, an inner resonance that can only be noticed when the mind becomes still.

Wishing everybody a lovely weekend!

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Under the stars

    1. Thank you Sofía!

      Also thanks for visiting my blog.

      You yourself have a very stylish blog, lovely photos and your Bonbon is adorable!

      Upon visiting your blog and seeing the photos of Bonbon, my partner is even more stressing how much we need a Frenchie!

      Up until now, ‘all’ he got was a painting and illustrations of a Frenchie ;)… at some point I guess it will be one of flesh and blood 🙂

Leave a Reply

