Rainbow Dragon Friends

Rainbow Dragon Friends: pencil under drawing 3B, black pigment ink (Lukas), Tintoretto Martora Kollinsky brush size 1, water colours (Reeves/Winsor&Newton), Fabrian Pittura paper cold pressed (meant for acrylic/gouache/oil) 400g/sq m, 25x35cm
Rainbow Dragon Friends: pencil under drawing 3B, black pigment ink (Lukas), Tintoretto Martora Kollinsky brush size 1, water colours (Reeves/Winsor&Newton), Fabriano Pittura paper cold pressed (meant for acrylic/gouache/oil) 400g/sq m, 25x35cm

November has been a busy month completing little projects.

With the year advancing to its end I like to use this time to feng shui my home, work, projects, thoughts, emotions, etc.

I feel that a thorough clean-up helps stay clear about ones goals and makes it easier to set priorities for the upcoming year.

But in between all this ‘busy work’ little inspirations do cross my path and some need to be realised immediately (or else I find no peace), like with this ‘rainbow dragon friends’ illustration.

I was inspired by a wonderful dream of dragons. They were busy with constructing something. Each dragon was coloured in one of the rainbow colours. From far away, they looked like a dragon rainbow.

It was a beautifully coloured fantasy journey.

Upon waking at 04:45 AM I wrote down: in the next illustration of the ‘little girl’ capture the feel and colours of the dragon dream.

Being a Sunday I was short on water-colour paper so I used my acrylic paper block instead.

Although I hoped it would not matter, it was not the best of ideas and, tomorrow, Monday, I shall definitely stock up with some good water-colour paper.

Leave a Reply

