#inktober – so far, @Making_Comics

After having to leave #paintseptember before it was completed I am starting #inktober a little late due to travelling.

When it comes to travelling, I am a firm believer of travelling light – even lighter – if possible.

That is why, before I left, I prepared well, and made sure to bring the smallest possible, extensive, portable artist’s studio with me, so I need not compromise any artistic itches along the way.

My artist's travel kit: pencils, black pigment liners, Tintoretto Martora Kollinsky brushes 1,2,3 (forgot the ink though), a pen, water tank brush, Winsor & Newton water colour mini set, blank greeting cards, A5 One4All art book, 18x24cm water colour pad.
My artist’s travel kit: eraser, pencil sharpener, pencils, black pigment liners, Tintoretto Martora Kollinsky brushes 1,2,3 (forgot the ink, though), a pen, water tank brush, Winsor & Newton water colour mini set, blank greeting cards, A5 One4All art book, 18x24cm water colour pad.

I am very glad to say that I did not carry the extra weight around with me entirely for nothing:

October 2nd: The Unconditional Loving Hug

#inktober day 2: 'The Unconditional Loving Hug'. Pencil under-drawing 4B, black pigment liner 0.2, on water colour paper using and refining my cross-hatching technique
#inktober day 2: ‘The Unconditional Loving Hug’. Pencil under-drawing 4B, black pigment liner 0.2, on water colour paper using and refining my cross-hatching technique

Before I remembered to take a picture of my first greeting card creation, I gifted it to the most wonderful lady with the purest soul!

So I can’t show you that one. But it was the boy and the girl changing into some comfy Indian clothes, just like the ones they are wearing in the following drawings.

October 5th: a) In the Food Line and b) Feeding Lakshmi

#inktober day 5a: 'In the Food Line'. Pencil under-drawing 4B, black pigment liner 0.1, on water colour greeting card, cross-hatching
#inktober day 5a: ‘In the Food Line’. Pencil under-drawing 4B, black pigment liner 0.1, on water colour greeting card, cross-hatching
#inktober day 5b: 'Feeding Lakshmi'. Pencil under-drawing 4B, black pigment liner 0.1, water colour greeting card, cross-hatching
#inktober day 5b: ‘Feeding Lakshmi’. Pencil under-drawing 4B, black pigment liner 0.1, on water colour greeting card, cross-hatching

And, last but not least, I also learned a few new things:

  • While sketching on a plane with a pen or a pencil is no problem, inking is a little more difficult.
  • Bugs like to nest on the moist water tank brush. I did not take a souvenir photograph of that, because this image is clearly imprinted in my memory, anyway. *shivers*
  • Water colours get really soggy in a very humid climate, and paper gets very damp.
    Consequently, careful not to squish your paints trying to wipe them clean, and drying your water colour art will take more time than you might be used to.

As for #inktober, I shall try to stick to a daily routine starting from tomorrow.

For more details about #inktober and how to participate see: http://mrjakeparker.com/inktober. Also, check out his great art work!

And, if you love comics and love to draw, ink, colour, come up with stories… check out http://www.makingcomics.com. A great website where many of your questions all around comics are answered.

Happy Inking To Everyone!

2 thoughts on “#inktober – so far, @Making_Comics

Leave a Reply

