Day 12 of #DrawingAugust

I was really sad about the news that Robin Williams passed, yesterday.

Having him on my mind today, I decided to draw him as my favourite character ‘Mork’, as in the TV series ‘Mork and Mindy’.

IMG_0323.JPG

I loved that show as a child. My stepfather would reenact scenes for me and made me laugh again and again.

I also loved how Mork would would call in Ork to report back on the behaviours of the earthly beings: ‘Mork calling Ork, come in Ork’ ~ or so I believe it went. Or, remember, how he would sit upside down in Mindy’s Jeep?

He was a great comedian and actor in general. Such a shame, he left so soon.

9 thoughts on “Day 12 of #DrawingAugust

  1. I think you made Mindy more beautiful than she was…though, as a kid, I had a crush on her, anyway:P Ink this, and it would make a great one of those Color By Number kit covers I used to see in the 80s.

    I was not the biggest Mork fan after one or two of the creepier episodes…like the one when he shrank into nothing or reverted to being an infant and hit those high notes when he cried. I remember being disturbed much as I was when the “Greatest American Hero” did a Halloween episode with vampire teeth in the dark.

    Yea, I guess I liked the “giant head” or “egg to Orson” reports, too. His behavior on that show seems to exemplify the hardships he faced throughout life. Not everyone understood him. More people laughed at him for being zany than understanding everything he said or did. He struggled with substance abuse and going off script. I think his substance use was his security blanket when he couldn’t understand or change to please people. He reminded me of a dog that likes to tear apart shoes.

    1. I must admit, I am not strong at drawing portraits. But I remember how I admired Mindy’s full, luscious and shiny hair. Up to the age of nine my mom would always cut mine short and everybody thought I was a boy. Traumatised from this childhood experience, I’ve been keeping my hair long. And hairdressers are always scrutinised before they are allowed to chop.
      I was still very young when watching Mork and Mindy, so I do not know too many details… I also doubt I understood much of the dialogue. But Mork’s gesticulation must have convinced me as a child. And my stepfather would imitate him so well! 😀
      As for Robin Williams and his private life… I had no idea he struggled with substance abuse. I never follow the lives of prominent people, because, I anyway only believe first-hand information. But, whatever the reasons for his death, 63 was just too soon. Telling by his quotes, he was a wise person: childlike yet highly intelligent :). I wish he took the words out of the song ‘Don’t worry, be happy’ in which he played in the video clip more to heart. *sigh*
      But about the inking, I might give it a shot, I find that quite a good idea, thank you!

      1. YES! I think her hair had an impact on me, too. But, back when I watched the show, I was still hung up on blondes like the one from “Charlie’s Angels”, “Electra-Woman and Dyna-Girl”, “She-Ra”, etc. It wasn’t until 1992 when I turned to brunettes. But, now that you mention that hair, I suppose that’s what got me interested in Zooey Deschanel when I first saw her with dark brown hair and those bangs. I first was drawn to her by her voice in “Elf.”

        The great thing about portraits, though, is that you can take them seriously and strive for detail or “go loose” and turn them into cartoons/caricatures. It’s a good practice that makes a “still life” more interesting. I can’t get as creative with a bowl of fruit. I usually end up giving apples and oranges faces.

        Oh, that sucks. I knew girls who had their hair butchered, too. I am not sure why it happened. I usually preferred them with long hair. My best female friend had the worst short, frizzy hair cut (but not boyish). Then, by 7th grade, she grew it back out to shoulder-length, and I was in love, again:) I also knew a girl who had hair like sheep’s wool for years…until 7th grade when she too cut it shoulder-length and straightened it out. That really knocked her up a few notches on the beauty meter.

        For the longest time, I went mad if any girl with nice long hair got it cut short and have told women to let it grow. Then, about 12 years ago, I met a girl online who had a nice short cut (called a “bob”). I first said she looked like Harry Potter. But, the more I saw pictures of her with it, the more I liked it. Since then, I’ve appreciated both short and long hair on women provided the short hair isn’t TOO short or manly.

        Gesticulation…now there’s a word I’ve never seen before. Never mind, I just looked it up.

        I think that’s the general reaction of a child, to be entertained by silly movements and sounds rather than scrutinize what’s being said. I think that’s why Bugs Bunny and Tom and Jerry cartoons amused (me) as a kid. I was responding to the “zaniness” without grasping the seriously disturbed action that was unfolding and the adult humor. That’s what inspired the creators of “The Simpsons” to use Itchy and Scratchy. Nowadays, If I look back at those old toons, I see things much differently. I would not want my kids/nephews watching those cartoons.

        I never knew the extent of his substance “abuse.” I first learned of it from a “behind the scenes” special they aired about his work on “Mork and Mindy” which displayed him being resistant to direction and acting out like a child. I’m going to leave that word separate as I can’t be sure the extent of his use and know “pissy” people can skew such info to put someone in a good or bad light. So, all I know is he used drugs to get over his moods much the way many I meet do. He lived all this time without overdosing. So, that separates him from the Belushi and Farley types. What I cannot believe is that he would slash his wrists and then choke himself. That sounds fishy. I would expect a “substance abuser” to overdose. I would also expect a depressed person to withdraw from a lack of work. He had a few movies in the works. He was busy. But, perhaps, it was a desperate attempt to combat the emotional problems that became too much for him.

        If by first-hand information, you mean whatever source gets to you first, that’s sad, knowing how the media is blaring and bound to skew things for dramatized effect. TV wants to get a rise out of you. The truth may affect you in any number of ways on its own.

        I was just as stunned to learn Humphrey Bogart died at about the same age. But, no one has compared me to Bogey.

        I think he suffered with his intelligence. He wanted to discuss things but was skeptical of responses from others. He didn’t want his “demons” to affect others. I think be battled himself daily. To be or not to be.

        Being as intelligent as he probably was, not worrying and being happy is easier said than done. He relied on making people smile to keep him going. Yet, when he couldn’t control his own rants which didn’t always “hit home,” he probably went home feeling like he failed (to be understood).

        I should thank you for this lovely moment in time:) And, we should share more, perhaps in my Chat Cafe (page). Any topic you wish to discuss is sure to be fine. And, if you like, I can add some of your work to the gallery (which I like to change with the season/holidays).

      2. Hehe! I see you do your name ‘writingbolt’ absolute justice! 🙂

        I agree, there are some nice short haircuts out there. Also, there are indeed women who look really beautiful and feminine with short haircuts.

        I also agree on the cartoons and the disturbed action and the adult humour.
        Recently, I went to a bookstore to see what was on the mainstream market for children’s books. This was quite a disappointing experience for me. Illustrations and stories were mind-numbingly stupid (my personal opinion). But at the same time it was an exhilarator for me to actually act upon an idea I’ve been having for some time now to create some ‘new paradigm’ children stories and illustrations, instead of just dreaming about it. Let’s see how I’ll do.

        As for ‘first-hand’ information: to me this means my own experience or someone is telling me about his or her personal experience. So that would mean that I would have had to witness Robin William’s substance abuse in person or be of witness to how somebody, who was actually very close to him, experienced it. And for all the rest, it may be but it may also not be true. In these cases, I’ll leave it open, and unresolved.

        My thank you to you, too, for your elaborate and interesting response. I started following your blog but I did not find your gallery (is that what you mean with seasonal/holiday change? You take the gallery offline?). Anyway, just let me know which of my art work speaks to you and which of it you’d be interested in posting in your virtual gallery at some point in time.

        Until then,
        happy writing!

      3. Are you saying I honor my name(sake) by writing long/exploding with words or in some other dynamic/exciting way (as lightning can be)? [I do realize my response ran on a bit… But, there were a number of topics to cover which would probably shake the dust off my Chat Cafe page.]

        How would you further explain the “stupidity” of the children’s books you viewed? And, did you just scan covers, flip through or thoroughly read some in the store?

        Being exhilarated by following through tells me you might share some of my “sloth” to take just about any action outside of a “slump.” 😀 I suppose I’ve been thinking the same thing…but not as heavily. I had a whim for composing a kids book a few months ago and left it at that:P I gave it a few hours of brainstorming before my brain ran dry. I just keep pumping out seeds. I went on another writing tear not too long ago, dredging up some old ideas and throwing in some new.

        So, in short, we only hear things but know very little to nothing about the real Robin. Ay?

        Elaborate and interesting…translation: Maybe a little long/too much to read in one shot.

        No, I didn’t take the gallery down, exactly. It’s just bare bones and a few “bumper stickers” I recently swapped in/added. I figured once more artists started chatting in there, I’d feature pieces of their work like a cafe which hangs framed pics of those “stars” who visit. But, eventually, I’d have to make room for others/changes for the seasons. I have a bunch of “bumper stickers” for old video games, comic books, movies and cartoons I aim to get in there eventually. And then, Halloween and the other holidays are coming.

        It’s one of the currently three links atop my page/posts: the “About Me,” the “Contact” page and “Writingbolt’s Chat Cafe.”

        Until next we meet.

      4. Yep, exploding, dynamic and exciting and all that at once! In a good way, you know. Like that unexpected thunderstorm in Summer. After days of sunny silence the universe starts speaking with intensity.

        ‘Stupidity’ of children books, defined…
        One example of one of the many farm stories: The illustrations depicted cows being milked by milking machines. Content of the story: pumps got loose and milk splashed everywhere. The whole barn was full of milk and everybody and everything in the barn, too. That’s it. It supports: mass production, milk waste, cow abuse, carelessness towards nature… I was annoyed.

        As for writing/illustrating a children’s book: I think it’s important to not belittle our creative impulses and to act upon them as soon as possible, so they do not just remain daydreams. That is just a shame for all, who could benefit from whatever is being created. Even, if it is just about us benefiting from our own creative exercise. 🙂

        Long, yes, but kept me reading. So, not too much.

        Ok, so I shall certainly keep an eye on your blog and looking forward to its progress and development. Always a good idea to collaborate and co-create and share ones creative ideas!

      5. I like a good thunderstorm…as long as there aren’t any fires or floods.

        Well, I’d have to see this milk spill book, but maybe you are so mature that you’ve lost the child-like appeal of silliness. I imagine the spilling of the milk was not intended to make light of food waste but to generate a silly story about a milk leak that went way out of control. You might hate “Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs” which is far worse in terms of food waste. But, it’s a rather amusing story with a kernel of tear-jerking heart thrown in (the film version, anyway). I may be out in left field, but I suspect your parents might have instilled some of this conversation thinking in your head…which isn’t all bad. But, it’s a kids story. Not a manual to managing a farm responsibly.

        You might say there’s similar stupidity in adult stories–or stories for kids now being read by adults–which depict magic and relationships affected by magic and mythical creature interference. That’s silly…but it’s a fantasy story. Without imagination, what are we left with? The cold, hard facts of life…which, lately, fairly suck. For some, because people won’t face them. And, for others, some of it drives them mad.

        There are billions of books in print with hopes of dazzling large audiences and raking in cash. It’s possibly the largest reality show in the world. And, it’s rather nuts. I think anyone pushing for the e-book movement is merely folding under the sheer weight of what may be possible excess paper consumption. But, who is to judge what gets printed or not? And, who are these editors who miss typos and create crazy grammar situations?

        All that I can ramble in one word, madness.

        Not everything one can create and think will serve some good use will be put to that good use. If you want to talk biblical terms, God gave life to the world and supposedly put man in charge. And, what do we do with that responsibility? Abuse it.

        But, yes, for our own mental benefit, it’s important that we keep creating…or, at least, thinking. Sometimes shooting down one idea makes room for something better on the horizon. Sometimes the world gets us down, denies us our “deserved” fame. But, that just gives us reason to look elsewhere. Not every sheep can fit in the same barn. But, there’s plenty of land and other barns.

        Yes, I look forward to finding a collaborator/co-writer/co-artist. It could be you.

      6. “Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs” 😀 I saw them both. And you’re spot on, I was not thrilled. 😉 But I did give the second part a chance and felt it was more appealing, at least to me. I certainly liked those sentient fruits and vegetables. The sentient hamburgers were however questionable to me… because, there is a munched up dead cow/pig between the bun and salad – it’s a bit of an oxymoron, to me.
        But, at least, part two showed a bit more how one can get lost in ones career choices, in all that glitter, shine and promises (e.g. from the corporate world) and forget ones values, friends, family (all those that support us along the way) and that their is always a way to make things right again.
        However, I can’t blame my parents, or any other member of my family, for being a difficult audience/customer with high expectations. As a child and still today, I remain a mystery to my family members :D.
        To me silly, cute, funny, magical, or even, surreal need not lack a lesson, a wise message, values etc. I totally liked ‘How to Train Your Dragon’. Because it was cute, silly, and funny but showed human errors, bonding, friendship, bravery, and how to overcome obstacles and make the best of the situation at hand.
        I regard children as highly creative and intelligent beings that are still ‘under construction’. They are easily influenced by their environment (as are we grown-ups ;)), so why not give them funny, cute, and silly with an intelligent twist that will expand a child’s imagination as well as awareness.
        Awareness keeps us from creating things that are harmful and opens doors to more than just the third dimension. In awareness we can’t harm anything or anyone. So, in my opinion, the reason why so many harmful things have been created is because of a lack of awareness.
        In our creative process, we might come up with many mediocre things before we hit gold. But as for gold washing, it takes time and patience to actually find that dazzling chunk of gold – if ever.
        Hemingway said, that he needed to write 99% of sh.. to write 1% of content that was worthwhile. Maybe things get published too soon due to profit greed of the publishing houses. That puts the creatives and editors under pressure. What they produce is the first 25% of sh.., that’s what gets published and they never get the chance to get to that 1%.

      7. You probably liked the second one–which I have yet to see–because they gave the food a life and a place to live. But, if you didn’t like the first…what made you see the sequel?

        Oh, all the food is questionable in those movies:P The cooked chicken suit the “Uh oh” big baby guy wore was very questionable. I could see the machine making vegetarian or gelatin items…but steak and chicken?…from rain?

        However, if it was my dream, I’d be right there for the pizza, hamburgers (like the ones the weather girl gets excited about when she first experiences the machine’s power) and spaghetti with meatballs. I’d sure enjoy that storm:)

        A mystery? I suspect that isn’t good in their eyes. I know I am not happy when my family acts like they don’t know me.

        And, they didn’t spill any milk while training the dragon, did they?:P

        Hemmingway was probably hard on himself from his teachers and parents. I suspect he had a dull, harsh upbringing (whether he was wealthy or not) which left him a bit “dry” or “coarse” in his thinking. Everything I know of him has a trace of old skin or salt to it. Like an old man at sea…or “old salt.” Maybe he was just another Mozart without a piano to bang his head.

        Well, I think publishers are in a crisis, too, thanks to computers and the internet. So, they probably have been taking more chances with poorly written or typed pieces. I have found a few errors in books I’ve read.

        The author of the Harry Potter books–I know–said she felt rushed after the first 1-3 books took off after she did the first one to cover expenses. She had to demand more time to finish the last book.

Leave a Reply

