Inking: Wind

I really wanted to try my new wooden nib pen and ink.

I got it for a comic I am working on. But then I thought to maybe use it for the #movemay series: Swimming, The Chase, The Jump and Diving.

But then I thought it was a good idea to first start simple and decided to use the ‘Wind’ sketch from two days ago with tracing paper.

The most difficult proved to be drawing the long and curvy wind lines. I either did not have enough ink to draw the line to the end or the ink wasn’t of the same opacity throughout the line.

Maybe the tracing paper I used is not ideal for ink – but, in any case, this is a technique that requires training.

I believe that I could bring more life into some of my comic sketches once the technique is mastered. Let’s see if I have patience enough to get there.

First go on inking using tracing paper over 'Wind' sketch
First go on inking using tracing paper over ‘Wind’ sketch

Maybe, in the end, I’ll, just use the ink options of Sketchbook Pro. Will certainly not leave me with a black thumb as the nib pen does, and mistakes can be corrected easier.

Then again, it is nice to master various techniques.

However, in times where we are forced to become ‘experts’ of just one trade, one might hesitate.

How does the saying go? Jack of all trades, master of none? Of course!

I believe Leonardo Da Vinci is laughing at this saying from the Heavens!

And I am convinced that the capacity of a human being is largely underestimated!

When and how did this negative connotation come about, anyway?!

I think our world could use a Renaissance revival. It would make it a far more interesting place with a lot more happy and creative people. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

